UA Ruhr @ 10

UA Ruhr is celebrating its 10th anniversary this year. With a series of ten interviews, we would like to introduce some representatives of our alliance....

Read More

New pathways to social change

A new publication documents the contributions made by more than 200 international social innovation experts at a conference held last year in Berlin. Discussions and presentations look at social innovation in different arenas of public life and analy...

Read More

Metropolitan Studies @ UA Ruhr

The University Alliance Ruhr has made Metropolitan Studies one of its new collaborative research clusters, combining research strengths and study programs with a focus on urban and regional development, urban social movements, demographics, logistics...

Read More

The academic hub for research, teaching, study and networking in Germany’s vibrant Ruhr area

The University Alliance Ruhr (UA Ruhr) is an alliance of the Ruhr-Universität Bochum (RUB), TU Dortmund University (TUDO) and the University of Duisburg-Essen (UDE). The UA Ruhr Liaison Office New York (UA Ruhr New York) represents these three universities in North America. UA Ruhr New York was founded in 2004 under the name ConRuhr (Consortium of the Ruhr Area Universities) and is located in New York City. It is a tax-exempt nonprofit organization under section 501(c)(3) of the United States tax code and is supported through contributions by the three Ruhr Universities.

With over 115,000 students and more than 17,000 faculty and academic staff, UA Ruhr represents one of the largest and high-performing research locations in Germany. UA Ruhr New York promotes, supports and facilitates academic collaborations between the three Ruhr Universities and partners in the United States and Canada.

Fast Facts

  • 115,000 students
  • 17% international students
  • 1,300 professors and 9,300 researchers
  • €1.2 B annual budget
  • €300 M in grant awards